Uttarakhand was formed out of the north-western districts of Uttar Pradesh and the Himalayas on 9th November 2000 as the 27th State of India. Uttarakhand is known for its natural beauty of the Himalayas, the Bhabhar and the Terai. The state is divided into two divisions, Garhwal and Kumaon, with a total of 13 districts. It is bordered to the northwest by the Indian state of Himachal Pradesh, to the northeast by the Tibet Autonomous Region of China, to the southeast by Nepal, to the south and southwest by the Indian state of Uttar Pradesh, and to the west by a tiny segment of the Indian state of Haryana. Its capital is the northwestern city of Dehradun.

The topography of Uttarakhand is characterised by snow-covered peaks, glaciers, deep canyons, roaring streams, beautiful lakes, and a few patches of dusty plains in the south. Some of the highest mountains in the world are found in Uttarakhand includes Nanda Devi , which is the second highest peak in India, Kamet, and Badrinath.


Most Recent